top of page

The National Commission

The main work of the National Commission is to preserve the unity of the Association whilst encouraging and supporting creative diversity.

The Commission meets regularly to review all aspects of the Association; to support and network with Associate Groups; to provide spiritual support and plan events. Commission members are drawn from all regions of the United Kingdom.

Membership of the Commission

  • Members of the Commission are appointed by the Trustees - Sisters and Associates - for a period of three years or longer if appropriate.

  • Nominations for Associates are received by the Trustees from the Group Leaders

  • Commission members who hold office - Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary - will relinquish their role and Commission membership after a maximum of six years. It is recommended that the Chair and Secretary do not resign at the same time.


Current Members of the Commission (as of September 2017)

Trustees: Sr. Joan Breen - Sr. Geraldine Lawlor 


Chair: Miss Marian Kennedy


Chaplain: Canon Alan McLean


Chaplaincy Team: Sr. Bridie Stephens - Sr. Margaret Jones 


Associates:  Mrs Marie Gray - Mrs Maria Overend - Miss Marian Kennedy  - Mrs Brid Regan
Mr Maurice Regan - Mrs May Raughter - Mr. Mark Lear


Sisters:  Sr. Noreen Cullen - Sr. Mary Gorman - Sr. Betty Larkin - Sr. Annette McCartan - Sr. Bridie Stephens


Minute Taker: - Sr. Noreen Cullen


Treasurer: - Mr Maurice Regan


Signatories: - Miss Marian Kennedy - Sr. Betty Larkin

The Commission at Work

"Try to view passing events as you will in a year hence, or as if they had happened a year ago"

Catherine McAuley

"Let us not feel distressed that others know our faults, we all have our imperfections and shall have them till our death"

Catherine McAuley

"Be ever ready to praise, to encourage, to stimulate, but slow to censure and still more slow to condemn"

Catherine McAuley

bottom of page